Malpua Rabdi Cake!!

FullSizeRender

A very Happy New Year to all my readers! I hope you all had great holiday break and have kick started new beginnings this New Year.

Over the holidays I enjoyed a lot of desserts. It’s hard to avoid them, when you have back-to-back occasions to celebrate :). It’s even harder if you are someone who has a ‘sweet-tooth’. Just recently, it was my husband’s birthday and I was in a dilemma, deciding whether to bake a cake or to make a dessert he loves or to prepare both. After long pondering it occurred to me that I could convert one of his favorite Indian dessert – Malpua (sugar syrup dipped pancakes) into a cake. This was a successful experiment :). Gear up and do not wait for a reason to treat yourself with this authentic Indian dessert in the form of a cake.

Details for how to make Malpuas can be found here: https://mylove4cooking.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/malpuas-sugar-syrup-dipped-pancakes/

 

Ingredients for Rabri:

1-cup heavy cream

4-5 strands of saffron

Sweetened condensed milk 3-4 tbsp (adjust according to taste)

1 tsp freshly ground cardamom powder

 

Method for cooking Rabri:

  1. In a heavy bottom pan, add the above ingredients and mix well.
  2. On medium – low heat cook this by stirring continuously. You will need some patience here :). Stirring is the key, in order to prevent charring.
  3. Cook until the cream has reduced to half the quantity.
  4. Turn off heat and let it cool down.

 

Assembling the cake:

  1. Place one Malpua on a serving plate. No apply some rabri over it.
  2. You need to stack Malpuas and rabri alternately. I stacked three.
  3. After I prepared 4 such stacks I just laid them out in the shape of a square (approx.). Place them as you like.
  4. Garnish with dry fruits of your liking and serve.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a comment